Sign in to follow this  
crowecg

FUJI MCEX-16 Extension tube

Since moving to Fuji, I've been uncertain what lens to buy to take over the role of my Tamron SP90 that I've been using for over 20 years on various Nikon cameras.  Whilst the Fuji 60mm is quite small and suits the objective of my Fuji system to be light and compact, it isn't a perfect solution as it only goes to 0.5x magnification.  On the other hand, the 80mm, which does go to 1x magnification just looks too big and heavy to go with an X-E3 based system.  There are some third party options -  a Zeiss 50mm, which left me a little nervous about the short focal length and working distance;  the final option I've looked at is Laowa 65mm - it goes all the way to 2x magnification, but is manual focus only and no electronic connections.  So my decision....

Extension tube.  I realise that it is a compromise in a lot of ways but it also offers a lot of flexibility.  It offers full autofocus and electronic connection with Fuji lenses.