GB111

Succulent candy

Comments welcome!

GB

DSC_4156_Edit1_Crop1_4_1500.jpg

While colourful, I think the vibrancy needs to be turned up a touch. 

4 hours ago, Dallas said:

While colourful, I think the vibrancy needs to be turned up a touch. 

This is an image where working in LAB colour mode can provide a dramatic improvement.

I can post a suggested edit if GB111 is happy for me to do so.

Guys, I've def struggled with the color on this one. Have probably produced 6-7 different variations, not sure which is best. I also think I toned it down a little too much here, as it does seem flat.  Below is one of the earlier ones - more colorful, do you think it works better?

Anthony, I've never worked in LAB before. Can you tell me about it?

DSC_4156_Edit1_Crop1_3_1500.jpg

I’m finding these photos are a tad on the soft side, and yes a bit flat. I would expect to see a bit more crispness!

3 hours ago, GB111 said:

Anthony, I've never worked in LAB before. Can you tell me about it?

This is the best explanation I have found.  https://digital-photography-school.com/how-to-use-lab-color-in-photoshop-to-add-punch-to-your-images/

I believe there are other programs than Photoshop which can use this colour space.

• Like 1

GB the colors are not saturated enough
in PS click Image /Mode / lab color (image most be flat, no layers)
it is a lot of fun to play with curves in lab color mode
after you finish playing, flatten the image and go back to RGB mode

• Like 1

OK fellows, I tried the LAB settings. It definitely affects saturation and vibrancy (and I need to read more on WHY).  Here's the adjusted shot w/ a lens blur variation, which may be the best of all (but you tell me!).