#1 Jyda

Jyda

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 1,220 posts
  • LocationSweden
  • Edit my pics?:Yes

Posted 14 January 2013 - 09:46

As some may have read, I recently lost all of my camera gear in a burglary. I thus I have to replace it all. It also means that I have the opportunity to rethink my system from scratch. I haven't heard back from the insurance company yet so I can't say how much money will be available for the purpose, but about 10000€ ($13000) should be in the ballpark.

My main interests are landscape, street, and travel/hiking photography with some occasional portraiture. I used a D800 for everything, but was thinking of a lighter and more inconspicuous setup for at least for my street "work" (I am just an amateur). I know I won't be able to afford the "best" lenses for every focal length and was thinking of this setup.

Landscape, portraits, and travel (by car):
D800(E)
Nikon 16-35/4. Had one and while I wasn't overwhelmed by its performance, it was a very useful focal range and the possibility to use filters (which I still have) and VR made it a very practical lens.
Nikon AF-S 28/1.8. I had a Nikon 28/2 which I liked. Could make use of an AF version, though. The new Sigma 35/1.4 may be an option.
Nikon AF-S 50/1.8. A 50 is a must have. I had a AF-S 50/1.4, but the 1.8 seem just as good.
Nikon AF-S 85/1.8. For portraits and low-light shooting.
Nikon AF-S 24-70/2.8. My most used lens.
Nikon AF-S 70-200/2.8 VR II. A 70-200 is also a must have. I probably could make do with the 70-200/4 and will also consider that one.
Nikon SB-910.

Street, hiking and light travel:
I haven't any real experience besides holding one, but an Olympus OM-D with a normal zoom and a fast prime (45/1.8?)should suite my needs.

All that gear will be just shy of 10000€ new, but I will probably try to purchase at least some of it second-hand. I also have to replace spare batteries, memory cards, camera plates, etc. Luckily, still have my trusty tripod.