#1 makmanos

makmanos

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 972 posts
  • LocationNYC suburbs
  • Edit my pics?:Ask Me

Posted 06 July 2011 - 02:30

Hi folks, my name is Manos and this is my first post in the forum. I have been mostly reading and silently appreciating the work and info that everybody shares so thanks to all for that. I am an amateur with photography by any definition and I would like to dedicate more time to it.
I did manage to get a nice spot across from the Macy*s 4th of July NY fireworks display yesterday though and this year I am happier with the results I got compared to last year. I used my only wide zoom a Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF-D on a D700 for the entire fireworks display which lasts for about 30 minutes. It is actually the second time that I try to shoot fireworks in some planned manner and after reading up on some material online I decided that my settings would be in the f9-f11 range and 200 to 500 iso. I tried to not exceed exposure times more than 3-4 secs hoping that I will have better defined results without a lot of batches of fireworks mixing in the same exposure window. Not sure if that makes sense but here are some of the results. C&C welcomed and appreciated.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

This is just plain old Manhattan skyline reflecting a nice golden sunset light
Posted Image

In a final comment, I generally like the 18-35mm but I am not a big fan of the distortion. I generally struggle to fix it in some pleasing way for me in pp. I use Lightroom 3 . Adobe at least in L3 does not seem to have a preset profile to fix this lens's distortion characteristics. If anybody knows of a relatively easy way of doing this in pp I'd love to hear it. Other post processing work I performed was general light adjustments and sharpening.

Thanks
Manos

Edited by makmanos, 07 July 2011 - 20:30 .

-Manos

#2 armando_m

armando_m

Advanced Member

• Life Member