The above adverts really do help Fotozones. Please click on them if they are relevant to you. Not seeing them? Just exclude Fotozones from your ad blocker. Thanks!

Photo
- - - - -

diffraction limitations

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 STS

STS

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 136 posts
  • LocationManchester CT
  • Edit my pics?:Ask Me

Posted 25 June 2013 - 05:06

I am very new to the world of digital photography; I gave up film around 2 years ago, and I hope to receive a quick education from this group.

One of the loves of my life is a Nikon F3 that now sits waiting in the closet, combined with its 10 page manual (put in film shot picture).

Around two years ago I picked-up a Nikon D7000, combined with its 100 plus page manual,( photographic  heroin), then a D800(photographic crack) came to visit, another 100 plus page manual, combined with Tom Hogan’s book.

A few discovery’s, I now know how to clean a sensor, tune a lens and now for the icing on the cake:

Nikon sells lens with all of these handy F-Stops, but due to diffraction I only need the ones from let’s say from f2.8 to F8 or F11 if I feel risky (my 75-150 E with an f32 is history).

I read rumors of the 56 m-pixel F4x, cool that almost completely removes the need for F-stops (I hope they can add a phone to it).

Assuming current sensor size and fabrication (ignoring the Foveon sensor which changes the pixel density equation significantly), at what point will you stop buying pixel density, verses increases in color depth, dynamic range and/or low light performance?

Is there software to reduce the effects of diffraction?

Have you ever selected a camera based on depth of field?

Does changing the from FX to DX mode on the D800 change the pixel density(point at which diffraction starts).

#2 pluton

pluton

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 700 posts
  • LocationSanta Monica, CA USA

Posted 25 June 2013 - 05:55