The above adverts really do help Fotozones. Please click on them if they are relevant to you. Not seeing them? Just exclude Fotozones from your ad blocker. Thanks!

Photo
- - - - -

I am a video noob - where should I start from?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 simato73

simato73

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 1,635 posts
  • LocationBollington, Cheshire
  • Edit my pics?:Ask Me

Posted 25 November 2012 - 22:19

So, I got this tiny cool Sony RX100 for its picture quality in a tiny body.
The excuse for getting it was to be able to take snapshots of my little daughter, but I wold not bow to a compact with a tiny sensor hence the RX100.
It turns out the camera is also pretty good at video.
It would be nice if I could take quality footage and turn it into something nice to send it to my mum who lives far away and also for future memory, however unfortunately I know bugger all about video.

I am starting from the assumption, based on initial mistakes I did in photography, that even if now I am a novice, I should record footage at the highest possible quality (just in case in the future...).
This seems to have huge implications not just on the power required from the computer, but also the space required to store the footage. I am truly astonished by the size of the files and by the the very liberal use of disk space made by Final Cut Pro X. Is there a way to go about recording/storing/editing video in a reasonable way in terms of storage and resources?

I guess even though people here are mostly into still photography, the capabilities of modern DSLR's (and m4/3 cameras too!) are such that many of us probably don't ignore video.

What was the process you went through to learn at least the basics?
Do you have any suggestions on where to get started?

Mods: If this is not the right place for this question, please feel free to more to somewhere more appropriate.
Simone

#2 Dallas

Dallas

Fotozones Owner

• Administrators
  • 18,150 posts