3 replies to this topic

#1 PatrickO

PatrickO

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 571 posts
  • LocationLeeds

Posted 30 August 2012 - 11:03

If your images are online there is a chance that someone would have found them and is using them. This thread is a discussion on how to find unauthorised use of your work and claim.

Please note I am not a lawyer or up to speed with copyright law, and every country/jurisdiction may be different. Take anything I say with a pinch of salt.

Step 1. Find out who is using your work
I use three methods. First, go into your web hosting control panel and check out the detailed site statistics. I look for links and downloads. Second, use Google image and list images that show the same subject. You could try their image matching (click on the little camera symbol to the right of the image search box), but I've found that to be less than perfect. Third, do a google search on the image file name - especially if you save images with unique names like patrick87436876.jpg

Step 2. Make sure your images can be identified as yours
Add a watermark or a signature, and any meta-data. I often forget or couldn't be bothered if the images are for friends and family or here. Not to say that an image without a copyright notice isn't legally yours anyway, just it is easier to prove.

Step 3. Make a claim
I recently helped a friend whose web designer had ripped an image off Getty for his website and received a bill for £900 when they found out. Messy. My suggestions are:

a) A management company can claim your rights whilst adding a perceived separation that may reduce any ill effect on your goodwill. They may also be perceived as more clued up on copyright law and therefore less likely to be ignored.

B) Send a nice email. The other side should be seen as a valued client after all, and threats will only encourage the recipient to get a lawyer involved. Here's one sent recently that was responded to and paid in days....