The above adverts really do help Fotozones. Please click on them if they are relevant to you. Not seeing them? Just exclude Fotozones from your ad blocker. Thanks!

Photo
- - - - -

Decided to start experimenting with Flashlights - where to start??

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 pkol

pkol

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 46 posts
  • LocationLondon
  • Edit my pics?:Yes

Posted 20 April 2012 - 22:03

Hi,

I never used a flashlight before (apart from the D700 onboard flash) and would like to start experimenting with it. So I'm decided to get a flashlight. Because I'm a total novice in the field I would like to hear your advice on which flash to buy.

I'm thinking either SB 910 or SB 700, but then again I don't know much about the subject. Maybe there are better non-Nikon options.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Paulo Kol

"We don't see things as they are, we see them as we are." - Anais Nin

#2 Bjørn J

Bjørn J

Happy user of Nikon photographic tools

• Life Member
  • 729 posts
  • LocationNorth Norway
  • Edit my pics?:Ask Me

Posted 20 April 2012 - 22:15

I can highly recommend the SB700. It is lighter and much smaller than the 910, and the flash output is 1 stop less.
I have both the SB900 and the 700, and I almost always use the 700.
And I do not believe there are better non-Nikon options :)

Bjørn J

#3 pkol

pkol

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 46 posts
  • LocationLondon
  • Edit my pics?:Yes

Posted 20 April 2012 - 22:29

Thanks Bjorn
Paulo Kol

"We don't see things as they are, we see them as we are." - Anais Nin

#4 EL_guest

EL_guest

Advanced Member

• Life Member
  • 6,446 posts
  • Location_

Posted 21 April 2012 - 07:27

The SB 910 is huge, but a larger and a little nicer light, compared to a SB 700.
I sell use the SB 800 types, It has a completely different menu to SB 00 and SB 910
SB 800 doesn't have the 'security' to turn off the flash before it overheats, a much hated feature of the SB 900 and SB 910